March Connections Newsletter

Posted on: March 1, 2018
Tags: Alumni Spotlight, Elevate Kentucky, Leadership Kentucky


A note from Janice Way, President:

Did you nominate someone for the Leadership Kentucky Class of 2018? There's only FIVE DAYS left for nominees to submit their application for this year's program. Please encourage them to submit their application as soon as possible.

To submit a last minute nominee, follow this link: Leadership Kentucky Class of 2018 . The session dates and details are below. Please keep in mind that Leadership Kentucky strives to truly represent our great Commonwealth by having applicants who reflect geographic, occupational and ethnic diversity.

The Elevate Class of 2018 has been selected! Look for information about the class below.  Congratulations to Elevate members, who will travel to Owensboro, Morehead and Lexington for this year's sessions. 

Finally, It's time to pay your annual alumni dues for 2018! Click here to pay. 
We'd like to welcome and introduce the new chair of the Board of Directors, Elmer Whitaker (Class of 2006). Elmer K. Whitaker is CEO of Whitaker Bank Inc. He began his role as CEO at the start of 2011 after years facilitating the growth of the company through acquisition and product development.  He formed the Marketing department for the company.
 A Hazard native and central Kentucky resident, Elmer K. Whitaker is a Kentucky man through and through.  He is a graduate of Transylvania University, KBA General School of Banking and the Graduate School of Banking at Colorado.

Thanks to Elmer for the generous contribution of multi-state publicity for Leadership Kentucky!  Through the partnership between Whitaker Bank and Rupp Arena, Elmer has shared his advertising exposure to promote Leadership Kentucky during UK Basketball games. Additionally, we can't thank Mary Michael Corbett, 2017 Board Chair, enough for her years of dedication to Leadership Kentucky and on the board. 

2018 Annual Alumni Dues

2018 is here which means it's time to pay your 2018 Alumni Dues! Dues directly benefit programming, participants and initiatives. If you'd prefer to pay via check or would like to receive an invoice, please e-mail Thank you!
Click to Pay Alumni Dues

Alumni News and Notes

  • Ron Carson (Class of 1985) has been named the chair of the Board of Visitors for the University of Kentucky's Martin School of Public Policy and Administration. 
  • Laura Babbage (Class of 1986) joins the Eastern Kentucky University Board of Regents. (
  • Constance Alexander (Class of 1991) has been elected President of the Governing Board of the Kentucky Historical Society. (KY Forward)
  • Elizabeth Griffin McCoy (Class of 1995) has been appointed to the University of Kentucky board of trustees. (
  • John D. Small (Class of 1997) has been appointed commissioner of the Department for Natural Resources. (The Lane Report)
  • Steve Brunson (Class of 2008) has been named chair of the board of Gateway Community and Technical College Foundation. (NKY Tribune)
  • Howard Roberts (Class of 2013) has been appointed to the Big Sandy Community and Technical College board of directors. (
  • Steve Bratcher (Class of 2013) has been appointed to the Elizabethtown Community and Technical College board of directors. (The Lane Report)
Send news, notes and updates to

ELEVATE Class of 2018

We are thrilled to announce the Elevate Class of 2018! These 24 participants come from across the state to form the second Elevate class! The first session is in April in Owensboro.

- Michael Albanese, KLH Engineers
- Joshua Allen, Kentucky Legislative Research Commission
- Andrew Apro, Perfection Group, Inc.
- Perry Blake, Members Choice Credit Union
- Heather Coleman Brooks, English, Lucas, Priest & Owsley, LLP
- Sierra Burton, Edwards Moving & Rigging
- Kayla Campbell, Dressman Benzinger LaVelle
- Rachael Chamberlain, Frost Brown Todd LLC
- Kyle Frizzell, Downtown Lexington Corporation
- Anne Frye, Steptoe & Johnson PLLC
- Ashley Johnson, U.S. Bank
- Jamison Large, Churchill McGee, LLC
- Alexandria Martin, Public Relations Professional
- Edward Lee Metzger, Adams, Stepner, Woltermann & Dusing PLLC
- Brittany Moneymaker, Brown-Forman
- Louise Murdock, Jagoe Homes
- Brian Noll, Kenton County Schools
- Jessica Powers, University of Kentucky
- David Snyder, Cumberland Valley National Bank and Trust Co.
- Zachary VanVactor, Stites & Harbison PLLC
- Austin White, Logan Aluminum
- Joey Wright, Thompson Miller & Simpson PLC
- Meredith Zahirovic, Felix E. Martin Jr. Foundation
- Jessica Zeh, Kentucky Legislative Research Commission

Leadership Kentucky 2018 

 The nomination form for the Leadership Kentucky Class of 2018 is available here. Nominate a great colleague or friend today! Remember, the application is only available to those who have been nominated and the application and reference deadline is March 9th.

2018 Session Dates & Locations
June 13-15
: Berea

July 18-20: Louisville
August 15-17: Paducah + Eddyville
September 12-14: Bowling Green + Fort Campbell
October 17-19: Pikeville
November 14-16: Frankfort + Lexington
December 5-7: Northern Kentucky

LKY 2018 Nomination Form

Norton Healthcare
Pikeville Medical Center
Kentucky Power
US Bank
RunSwitch PR
Stites & Harbison, PLLC
Republic Bank
Whitaker Bank
Putting Kentuckians First and Reentry with the Kentucky Office Of Adult Education and the Education and Labor Cabinet
CHI St Joseph Healthcare
Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield
University of Louisville
Delta Dental
Kentucky Association of Health Plans
Whitaker Bank Foundation
St. Elizabeth Healthcare
Tennessee Valley Authority
Appalachian Regional Healthcare