Leadership Kentucky Announces 2023 BRIGHT Kentucky Class

Posted on: July 10, 2023

BRIGHT Kentucky, which began in 2019, engages bright, entrepreneurial minds from various occupational sectors to offer non-partisan, ethical leadership training, expanded networks, and mentors designed especially for residents of the 54 Kentucky counties of the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC). The program is made possible by a $500,000 Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) grant and private funding from the Whitaker Foundation, AEP Foundation/Kentucky Power, and other generous donors.

BRIGHT Kentucky is made up of five, three-day sessions where the primary goal is to help participants fully understand the local economic context and to build robust skill sets in communication, collaboration, consensus building, visioning, and community engagement. The program, which runs July through November, will take participants across Eastern Kentucky: Pikeville/Prestonsburg in July, Pineville/Middlesboro in August, Ashland/Morehead in September, Somerset/Corbin in October, and Berea/Frankfort in November. The program start date is July 12.

This year’s class includes 40 participants from 25 different ARC counties representing a variety of public and private sectors. Leadership Kentucky congratulates the following members:

  1. Daniel Armstrong - Greenup County - AppHarvest Foundation
  2. Emily Aust - Greenup County - Pathways
  3. Kimberly Back - Wolfe County - Whitaker Bank
  4. Andrew Bledsoe - Montgomery County - Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Office of the Inspector General
  5. Sarah Bowling - Whitley County - Bluegrass Care Navigators
  6. Lyndsey Brown - Russell County - Lake Cumberland Area Development District
  7. Rick Burke - Rowan County - St. Claire HealthCare
  8. Layken Chapman - Johnson County - Appalachian Regional Healthcare (ARH)
  9. Tiffany Coleman - Pike County - Southeast Kentucky Chamber of Commerce
  10. Megan Cornett - Perry County - Housing Development Alliance
  11. Sydney Cox, DSW,LCSW,LCADC - Knott County - Mountain Comprehensive Health Corporation
  12. Donald Damron - Carter County - King's Daughters Medical Center
  13. Lacey Dixon - Greenup County - City of Greenup
  14. Morgyn Dixon - Pike County - University of Pikeville
  15. Micah Drake - Estill County - Carhartt
  16. Alyssa Emmett - Laurel County - Forcht Broadcasting
  17. Cierra Gibson - Laurel County - Cumberland River Behavioral Health
  18. Erik Hall - Clark County - Kentucky American Water Company
  19. Jordan Hood - Knox County - RRJ Solutions
  20. Crystal Jones - Knott County - Alice Lloyd College
  21. Shelby Jones - Pulaski County - Cumberland Valley Area Development District
  22. Lauren Kirby - Rockcastle County - Christian Appalachian Project, INC.
  23. Leslie Lester - Wayne County - City of Monticello
  24. Isabella Martin - Pulaski County - Boys & Girls Club of Somerset
  25. Eden McKenzie - Boyd County - City of Ashland
  26. Ben Mosley - Knott County - Sitel group
  27. Ryan Newsome - Magoffin County - American Electric Power (Kentucky Power)
  28. Anthony Ortega - Laurel County - Windstream Telecommunications
  29. Joe Palumbo - Perry County - American Red Cross
  30. Jordan Pierce - Casey County - Tarter Farm and Ranch
  31. Emily Shafer - Pulaski County - Somerset Community College
  32. Tyler Stapp - Russell County - Russell County Hospital
  33. Hunter Stewart - Bath County - CG Bank
  34. Shanna Storm - Whitley County - CHI St. Joseph Health
  35. Lynda Mae Taylor - Montgomery County - Gateway Children's Services
  36. Stacie Taylor - Pike County - Pikeville Medical Center
  37. Madeline Tipton - Boyd County - The Tipton Creative, LLC
  38. Gary Vinson - Perry County - Hazard Community and Technical College
  39. Kirsten Wilburn - Laurel County
  40. Jessy Workman - Floyd County - Wayland Historical Society




About Leadership Kentucky

Leadership Kentucky, created in 1984 as a non-profit educational organization, brings together a diverse group of people who possess a broad variety of leadership abilities, career accomplishments, and volunteer activities to gain insight into complex issues facing the state. By fostering understanding of how the state’s issues are interconnected, and by forging new relationships among community and regional leaders, Leadership Kentucky graduates bring a fresh and informed perspective to their communities and companies, serving as important participants in the unified effort to shape Kentucky’s future. The Leadership Kentucky Foundation offers four unique programs: Leadership Kentucky, ELEVATE Kentucky (for young professionals), BRIGHT Kentucky (for next-generation Eastern Kentucky leaders), and New Executives to Kentucky (for senior-level executives who have lived in the state for less than two years). For more information, please visit leadershipky.org or email lky@leadershipky.org.


Norton Healthcare
Pikeville Medical Center
Kentucky Power
US Bank
RunSwitch PR
Stites & Harbison, PLLC
Republic Bank
Whitaker Bank
Putting Kentuckians First and Reentry with the Kentucky Office Of Adult Education and the Education and Labor Cabinet
CHI St Joseph Healthcare
Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield
University of Louisville
Delta Dental
Kentucky Association of Health Plans
Whitaker Bank Foundation
St. Elizabeth Healthcare
Tennessee Valley Authority
Appalachian Regional Healthcare